58 rue Chapon, 75003 Paris
Open from Thursday to Saturday, 1 to 7 p.m
+33 6 60 22 25 02

Exhibition

From April 26 to May 25, 2024

GPT Ô

Jim Dine, Jean-Simon Roch, DataDada, Don't Buy, Lorna Mills

Array
Untitled from Pinocchio Portfolio, 2005 © Jim Dine
Pinocchio surprisingly close to our modern concerns

Although written in 1883 by Carlo Collodi, the tale of Pinocchio seems surprisingly close to our modern concerns. Indeed, the adventures of this wooden puppet who dreams of becoming a living being reveal fascinating parallels with the development of artificial intelligence, which is increasingly disrupting our reality.
To address the transition from the inanimate to A.I. are presented in this exhibition:
_ Jim Dine's Pinocchio lithographs illustrating the thirty-six chapters of Carlo Collodi's tale
_ Jean-Simon Roch's animated objects, which create sleight-of-hand tricks to bring an inert form to life
_ a conversation with GPT Ô, the lying I. A liar created by DataDada
_NFTs of Yellow Sweeter by Don't Buy and Pomme de Terre by Lorna Mills

Geppetto, the creator of Pinocchio, represents the figure of the scientist or engineer who brings AI to life, here he becomes GPT Ô.

Jim Dine
Portfolio Pinocchio
36 plates, 31 in color
Editions Steidl, 2006 . 35 copies
impression atelier Michael Woolworth

Jim Dine, American artist born in Cincinnati, Ohio, in 1935, graduated from the Ecole des Beaux-Arts in 1957. A precursor of Pop Art and happenings, he works in various media and is also interested in wood sculpture and engraving. Claude Bernard devoted an exhibition to him in 1978. His work is exhibited in museums the world over. He is represented by Galerie Templon.



Jean-Simon Roch
Danse macabre 1, Danse macabre 2, Danse macabre 3, Squelette, Mobile à grandes Gigues, Danse des fous, Ossuaire, Armoire de nuit . 2022, 2023 et 2024

Jean-Simon Roch, designer/artist, divides his time between pursuing his research into the question of mechanisms, effects, optical principles and sleight-of-hand to bring an inert form to life, and commissioned projects inspired by his research.
Much like Geppetto, it often starts with a small piece of wood that comes to life through vibration, gravity or other simple physical phenomena.



DataDada
GPT Ô, l'I.A menteuse, created by DataDada

DataDada is a French Dada artists' collective with a particular interest in digital technologies: Data, I.A. NFTs ... It is made up of albertine meunier, julien levesque, sylvie tissot, thu trinh bouvier, artists and developers.
Their motto: 'Chance doesn't make itself. Say 33!'



Don't Buy
Yellow Sweater
NFT, Edition 1/10, 2023

Don't Buy (b. 1997) is a visual artist who creates digital paintings and GIFs using artificial intelligence technology. In his work he addresses the aesthetics of retro digital windows and interfaces, reflecting on the theme of digital reality - endlessly appearing windows on top of AI images disrupting it and at the same time merging into a single statement.



Lorna Mills
Pomme de terre
NFT, Edition 1/30, 2024

Canadian artist, Lorna Mills has actively exhibited her work in both solo and group exhibitions since the early 1990's. Her practice has included obsessive Ilfochrome printing, obsessive painting, obsessive super 8 film & video, and obsessive on-line animated GIFs incorporated into restrained off-line installation work. Past exhibitions include “Dreamlands” at the Whitney Museum, NY, “Yellowwhirlaway” at the Museum of the Moving Image, NY, “The Great Code” at Transfer Gallery, NY and, currently, “Sea Change” at the Pérez Art Museum Miami. Lorna Mills is represented by Transfer Gallery in New York and DAM Gallery in Berlin.

58 rue Chapon, 75003 Paris
Ouvert du Jeudi au Samedi, de 14h à 19h

Tel. 06 60 22 25 02

Exposition

Du 26 avril au 25 mai 2024

GPT Ô

Jim Dine, Jean-Simon Roch, DataDada, Don't Buy, Lorna Mills

Array
Untitled from Pinocchio Portfolio, 2005 © Jim Dine
Pinocchio étonnamment proche de nos préoccupations modernes

Bien que rédigé en 1883 par Carlo Collodi, le conte de Pinocchio semble étonnamment proche de nos préoccupations modernes. En effet, les aventures de cette marionnette en bois qui rêve de devenir un être vivant recèlent des parallèles fascinants avec le développement de l'intelligence artificielle qui bouleverse de plus en plus notre réalité.
Pour traiter le passage de l’inanimé à l’I.A sont présentés dans cette exposition :
_ les lithographies Pinocchio de Jim Dine illustrant les trente-six chapitres du conte de Carlo Collodi
_ les objets animés de Jean-Simon Roch, qui crée des tours de passe-passe pour rendre vivante une forme inerte
_ une conversation avec GPT Ô, l’I.A menteuse créée par DataDada
_ les NFTs de Yellow Sweeter de Don't Buy et Pomme de Terre de Lorna Mills

Geppetto, le créateur de Pinocchio, représente la figure du scientifique ou de l'ingénieur qui donne vie à l'IA, il devient ici GPT Ô.

Jim Dine
Portfolio Pinocchio
36 planches, 31 en couleur
éditions Steidl, 2006 . 35 exemplaires
impression atelier Michael Woolworth

Jim Dine artiste américain né en 1935 à Cincinnati, Ohio, il sort de l'Ecole des beaux arts en 1957.Précurseur du Pop Art et des happenings, il travaille différents médias et s'intéresse aussi à la sculpture sur bois et la gravure. Claude Bernard lui a consacré une exposition en 1978. Il est exposé dans tous les musées du monde. Il est représenté par la galerie Templon.



Jean-Simon Roch
Danse macabre 1, Danse macabre 2, Danse macabre 3, Squelette, Mobile à grandes Gigues, Danse des fous, Ossuaire, Armoire de nuit . 2022, 2023 et 2024

Jean-Simon Roch, designer/artiste partage son temps entre la poursuite de sa recherche sur la question des mécanismes, effets, principes optiques et tours de passe-passe pour rendre vivante une forme inerte et des projets de commande qui s’inspirent de ses recherches.
Un peu comme Geppetto, tout part souvent d’un petit morceau de bois qui s’anime grâce à la vibration, la gravité ou d’autres phénomènes physiques simples.



DataDada
GPT Ô, l’I.A menteuse, créée par DataDada

DataDada est un collectif d'artistes français Dada qui s'intéresse particulièrement aux technologies numériques : Data, I.A. NFTs … Il est constitué d'albertine meunier, julien levesque, sylvie tissot, thu trinh bouvier, artistes et développeurs.
Leur motto : 'Le hasard ne se fait pas seul. Dites 33 !'



Don't Buy
Yellow Sweater
NFT, Edition 1/10, 2023

Don't Buy (né en 1997) est un artiste visuel qui crée des peintures numériques et des GIF en utilisant la technologie de l'intelligence artificielle. Dans son travail, il aborde l'esthétique des fenêtres et des interfaces numériques rétro, réfléchissant au thème de la réalité numérique - des fenêtres apparaissant sans cesse au-dessus d'images d'intelligence artificielle qui la perturbent et qui, en même temps, se fondent en une seule déclaration.



Lorna Mills
Pomme de terre
NFT, Edition 1/30, 2024

L'artiste canadienne Lorna Mills expose activement son travail dans des expositions individuelles et collectives depuis le début des années 1990. Sa pratique comprend l'impression ilfochrome obsessionnelle, la peinture obsessionnelle, le film et la vidéo super 8 obsessionnel, et les GIF animés en ligne obsessionnels incorporés dans des travaux d'installation hors ligne sobres. Parmi les expositions passées, citons 'Dreamlands' au Whitney Museum, NY, 'Yellowwhirlaway' au Museum of the Moving Image, NY, 'The Great Code' à la Transfer Gallery, NY et, actuellement, 'Sea Change' au Pérez Art Museum Miami. Lorna Mills est représentée par la Transfer Gallery à New York et la DAM Gallery à Berlin.

Sélection d'œuvres présentées